Sixteen Weeks!

You know what’s pretty much terrible?  How everyone and everything you ask about pregnancy says “Every pregnancy is different, you should call your doctor if something is unusual FOR YOU because you know your body and babies best.”  Guess what, everyone?  I’ve never been pregnant before.  So I don’t actually know what’s normal.  And “normal” changes from day-to-day.  Yesterday I was lethargic and headachy and didn’t get out of bed all but I didn’t actually get sick.  Today I feel pretty fine (except for some ligament pain) but I threw up first thing this morning.  By the time I figure out what’s normal for me and the babies, they’ll be born.  I know I bitch a lot, but honestly I’m enjoying being pregnant – if my symptoms would just even out so I could know what to expect and what’s a bad thing, that would be great.

Week 16

How far along? 16 weeks!
Total weight gain: Haven’t got a clue.  When I went to the doctor this past week it looked like ~10lbs, but I don’t know for sure.  Everything is going well, though, so that’s what matters.
Maternity clothes? Yes.  I’m mixing up my maternity clothes with my regular clothes, and everything seems to be going well so far.  I’m loving the tight tank top/tshirt with a cardigan over it (that’s what I’m wearing above)
Stretch marks? Nope – just crazily itchy and flaky.  No amount or type of lotion is helpful at this point.
Sleep: Really good this week, actually.  I’ve been sleeping through the night – at least till 3 or 4am, which is more than I could say before.  The crazy dreams have made a few appearances, but they didn’t wake me up.
Best moment last week: I guess going out for a friend’s birthday – it’s always fun to get out of the house, doubly so because I worked from home 3 1/2 out of 5 days this week.  If I didn’t have a policy of ensuring that I’m showered before starting to work from home, I probably wouldn’t have showered all week.
Miss anything? Summer!!  I’ve been daydreaming about those endless summer days, when my friends and I would lay out on the beach all day and then hit up someplace with outdoor happy hour.  This isn’t really something I miss because I’m pregnant, although by the time summer comes around I certainly won’t be having long lazy days at the beach and happy hour.  So, I guess some of it is pregnancy lol
Movement: Yes – not consistently or anything, but I do occasionally feel a movement or two when I’m watching TV or laying in bed.
Food cravings: Still no.  Anytime I see someone eating a food I’ve ever liked – on TV or on Facebook or something – I immediately want it, but I move on pretty quickly and I don’t just randomly crave anything.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Not particularly.  Generally anything that smells strongly
Gender: Ugh this stupid snow if effing up my life.  I have two appointments this week so fingers crossed!
Labor signs: Nope – thank God!  Way too early!
Symptoms: Nausea.  All day nausea.  Floaters in my eyes & headaches (I miss Topomax!).  Round ligament pain.  Gas pains & cramps.  Tiredness.  Oh, and I’m mean.  Like, I’ve always been mean, but for some reason it’s just become more fun for me to say hurtful things to people.  So, sorry not sorry.
Belly button in or out? It’s in, but I think it’s starting to creep.  Either that, or I’m just totally out of touch with my normal belly button position.
Happy or moody most of the time:  I’m obviously super excited, all the time.  But the symptoms start draining on me and making me cranky and moody.  Also, the aforementioned meanness.
Looking forward to: Finding out if they’re boys or girls (for real this time!) Also moving forward with the baby shower!
Leave a Reply

