Twenty Eight Weeks! Who’da Thunk?

Oh My Lanta.  It’s been nearly ten weeks since I last did a bump photo.  IMPOSSIBLE I SAY.  But seriously, moving out of our apartment and into my parents house, then getting all settled into my parents really took a lot out of me.  Some days I barely felt like I could get out of bed for work in the morning.  Now that I’m pretty well recovered from that, we’ve started getting gifts in the mail from friends and family who can’t attend the shower (which is next weekend!? what?!) so I’ve been trying to keep that stuff corralled and organized.  The nursery is almost cleaned out, so hopefully it will be done before the weekend so it can get painted before we get ALL THE THINGS.  Obviously I have a lot to think about, but I’ve really been enjoying it.  I’m super excited – more so every day!!  Ready for a HUGE difference in belly??

Week 29_text

How far along? 28 weeks!!  It’s FLYING by at this point.
Total weight gain:  As of the last doctors appointment, almost forty pounds!! But everyone keeps telling me I look like all belly, and I’m inclined to agree.
Maternity clothes? Yes, but still mixed – if you can believe it with how huge that thing is!!  Now that the weather is warming up I’m OBSESSED with maxi dresses, which are stretchy and long enough that if the hem rises an inch or two its not a big deal.  Pants are a dealbreaker though – if I’m going to wear them they better have an elastic waistband!
Stretch marks? Oh yes darling.  I’m not sure if it’s because I’m TERRIBLE at lotioning up unless I’m actively itchy, but my boobs and butt have gotten a few. I don’t think there are any on my belly, though, which is sort of funny.
Sleep: I’m still sleeping in chunks, but I get enough.  I wake up a bunch of times through the night to pee, but unless BB is on my side of the bed (I’m not a good sharer) I fall back asleep pretty quickly
Best moment last week: Well it’s been TEN weeks since my last post, but the best thing EVER is how much they move.  It’s kind of annoying sometimes – like when Thing 2 tries to push herself up into my ribs or pushes her butt out so my belly looks twelve different kinds of distended.  But honestly feeling them move around inside me calms me down when I’m getting stressed (if it’s too long between kicks I start thinking I did something wrong) and is just a truly amazing experience
Miss anything? Honestly at this point I feel like I’ve been pregnant forever and can barely remember what I did before I got pregnant.  It would be nice to NOT have to pee halfway through my commute, or to have a glass of wine when I get home from work, but I guess you can get used to anything.
Movement: Constant.  All the time.  If Thing 1 isn’t kicking my cervix, Thing 2 is trying to burrow into my ribs.  I swear they work together, because I’ll feel a kick on my left hip and my right ribs at the EXACT SAME TIME.  But seriously, I love it.  Most of the time.
Food cravings: Not really.  If you put an idea in my head I may just get a little obsessed with it, but I don’t just get random cravings.
Anything making you queasy or sick: No, thank God!  I think I may be past this, but the heartburn is pretty bad as well.
Gender: Oh yes, it’s been confirmed and confirmed and confirmed.  GIRLS.  TWO LITTLE GIRLS.  I’m excited and terrified all at the same time.
Labor signs: I don’t think so.  My crotch hurts a lot, but I don’t think we’re in labor territory yet.
Symptoms: Heartburn for DAYS.  Also, my lower back & lower abdomen hurt like CRAZY – the doctor suggested I get a brace, but I haven’t gotten to the store yet.  And like I just mentioned, my crotch tends to hurt like hell real randomly.  Every now and then you can catch me getting up out of the couch and waddling like a penguin.
Belly button in or out? Ooooh it’s SO CLOSE to out!  It’s just about perfectly flat, with just the tippy top sticking out.
Happy or moody most of the time:  Mostly I’m happy, actually, but it’s so easy to get whatever I want from people that sometimes acting cranky is simply a good plan 😉
Looking forward to: Mostly the baby shower, at this point.  Also, transitioning out of work and meeting my sweet girls:-)
Leave a Reply

