Am I In High School Again?

Boo_you_whore

I’m going to my first Mothers of Multiples meeting tonight.  I’m super excited – so far I’ve only talked to most of these ladies online, and many of them haveolder twins (i.e. real, living proof that this stage of fist-chewing, drooling all day, screaming all night is survivable).  The ladies seem really, legitimately welcoming and helpful from our chats online, and I cannot wait to meet them in person and confirm that theory.  But of course there is a part of me that is vaguely terrified.  I hate meeting new people, and the only thing worse is meeting a whole bunch of new people all at the same time.  I literally don’t think I will know anybody when I walk into that house tonight, and I have no idea what to expect.  You can imagine how that gives me a little bit of the heebie-jeebies (really? heebie-jeebies?   is it 1942?).  I know perfectly well – in my brain – that these are women who are reaching out for support just like I am, and who want to support in their turn.  And that even if they did turn out to be a gang of mean girls (again, super duper unlikely), it’s not like high school where I’m required to see them every day.  I could very easily turn around and go home.  And never ever see them again.  Childish?  Maybe.  But it’s kind of nice to know that being an adult means never being beholden to those mean girl antics again.

All of this, of course, is a moot point, because I am 100% certain that this group of women is amazing and wants nothing more than to support and help one another and keep each other from going completely insane while raising multiple babies at once.  For me it was vital, since N-O-N-E of my close friends have babies yet AT ALL (a few family friends & acquaintances, but none of my best friends) but I would imagine that even for women with “mommy friends” so to speak it’s difficult, because it’s TOTALLY not the same as having one (I assume.  What do I know.  I’ve never had only one baby.  I’m very parenthetical today, aren’t I?).  Anyway, all this babbling is simply to say that I’m very very nervous to go meet these women for the first time tonight.  That is all.

If you never hear from me again, it was probably secretly a cult and they killed me.

 

Leave a Reply

