Toddlerhood

You always know it’s coming.  First you have a newborn, then you have a baby, then you have a toddler.  It’s a pretty simple progression.  And you’ll think you’re pretty prepared.  After all, ever since you got preganant you’ve had people warning you about the “terrible twos” and “threenagers” and how sassy they become.  About the tantrums.  But you don’t really believe it.

Guys, I was so unprepared.  Sometime in November a switch flipped and my girls really started to grow into their toddlerhood.  They’re running and climbing, and when they’re doing either of those things on something they shouldn’t be (the couch, or the little picnic table they eat breakfast at), they stop and look for me to be sure I’m watching, and see what I’m going to do.  Then, when I stop them – because OF COURSE I DO because YOU KNOW YOU SHOULDN’T DO THAT – they have a tantrum – full boneless on the floor red faced screaming.  They go on for a lot longer than I expected them to, really – I don’t know why I thought that they would settle after only a minute or two, but that is definitely not the case.

Part of their boundary pushing is also pushing EACH OTHERS boundaries – which, again, I was unprepared for WHY I DON’T KNOW – so there’s a lot of attempted food hoarding (no, Rosy, you can’t just swat your sister away from the breakfast table and eat it all yourself) and hitting and pushing and yanking of toys.  But then there’s also totally unprompted hugging and rolling around on the ground with each other giggling their brains out, so it’s pretty worth it, I think.

Honestly, toddlerhood isn’t all that bad.  Don’t get me wrong, the bad parts do make me want to tear my hair out (I’M SORRY YOU DON’T WANT TO HOLD MY HAND OR BE CARRIED OR BE IN THE STROLLER YOU CAN’T JUST WANDER AROUND THE MALL BY YOURSELF YOU’RE 17 MONTHS NOT 17 YEARS) but their personalities are just getting bigger and more exciting.  I just wish someone had warned me so I could have been just a little more prepared.

Leave a Reply

